November Overview

It seems that I have been slacking a little this month in the blog department.  Maybe it’s the nice weather, or the fact that I started working (yippie!)that’s kept me away from my blog, but here is a quick recap of what I’ve been up to the past few days…

Update:  The loft bedroom is actually quite similar to living in an oven…well it was like living in an oven.  The day after my room swap, a lovely heat wave decided to grace Buenos Aires with its presence.  It was in the mid to upper nineties  for most of the week, and I literally thought I was going to lose my mind.  One morning I woke up drenched in sweat at 6:45am (NOT my preferred time to arise) and could not fall back asleep…I ended up rearranging the furniture in my room and finding a few mango smoothie recipes (this and this) that I tried later that day.  The smoothie was good but a little on the thick side (my smoothie attempts since then have also been pretty thick, so its still a work in progress).  The heat finally broke after a torrential downpour later in the week…I never though I ‘d be so excited for a thunderstorm in my life.  The temperature is back to normal and my room is very comfortable…aside from the large mosquito population that has been feasting on my body (even my face).

After a few nights of training, the boys and I are now officially members of The Buenos Aires Pub Crawl team!  I’m so glad that we decided to do this job since it has allowed us to meet so many new people from all over the world.  It’s a lot of fun too and I’m happy we’ve gotten to explore other neighborhoods…my favorite night is San Telmo Saturdays since I can go to La Poesia for an Irish coffee before work.

Along with working for BAPC, I have started teaching a few English classes during the day and working as an Au Pair at night.  This past Thursday marked my first actual day of working in Buenos Aires, which started with a one-on-one lesson with an engineer named Oscar.  Oscar wants to improve his listening and conversation skills, so we spent most of the lesson chatting and getting to know one another…he enjoys cycling and Woody Allen movies, so I think it’s safe to say we’ll be buds.  After that I had a meeting about another class that I will be teaching twice a week to two young business people that work for Coca-Cola…I had some time to kill after, so I stopped at Cafe Arenales to relax and read.  I ended a busy day of traveling all over the city at my Au Pair job in Retiro.  I watch two children, Manuela (who goes by ‘Manu’) and Pedro.  They are wonderful children and I could not have asked for a better family to work for.  We played soccer, goofed around with Photo Booth, and I helped Manu put some new decorative stickers on the wall in her bedroom.  It was a really great first day with the Manes family (they even made me dinner!), and I am very excited to spend more time with them.

One thought on “November Overview

Leave a Reply

